Internet voting at the national level

National-level Internet voting

  • Norway discontinued Internet voting trials in 2014.
  • Australia recommended against Internet voting in 2014.
  • Canada recommended against Internet voting in 2016.  The 2019 national Parliamentary election will have hand-marked paper ballots, counted by hand.
  • Finland studied and recommended against Internet voting in 2017.
  • Lithuania has decided not to proceed with Internet voting in 2019.
  • Switzerland has decided to redesign Internet voting trials, rather than making Internet voting a standard option.  However the Swiss Post system has been “temporarily suspended” after critical errors were found in the source code, and the use of the Geneva system has also been suspended pending a review.  i.e. Switzerland has no Internet voting at all at the moment.

UPDATE 2019-07-07: Swiss Post has made a confusing press release, basically to say that it will continue with its new system and discontinue its old one.  The “new system” is the one that had the public testing.  The public testing in which, through access to the source code outside of the restrictive agreement, three serious flaws in the system were found.

Swiss Post has decided to pool its strengths in the e-voting sector and work solely on the new system with universal verifiability. It plans to make the system available to the cantons for trial operation from 2020. Swiss Post will no longer offer the system that was previously in use.


Estonia continues to be the only country in the entire world that has national-level Internet voting for all voters (during the advance voting period).  And it has numerous issues with procedures and specifications, as well as low and declining turnout.

Although not directly about Internet voting, also note: